Sarcastic remarks overheard

“Sarcasm” is the poetry of choice for young people in the 21st Century. Following is a list of remarks my wife and I overheard.

Enjoy!

Overheard in a lunch room:

  • This isn’t an office; it’s Hell with fluorescent lighting.
  • I pretend to work; they pretend to pay me.
  • Errors have been made. Others will be blamed.
  • How do I set my laser printer to stun?
  • I can please only one person per day. Today is NOT your day. Tomorrow isn’t looking too good either.
  • Can I trade this job for what’s behind door number two?
  • I thought I wanted a career. Turns out, I just wanted a paycheck.
  • A cubicle is just a padded cell without a door.
  • I love deadlines. I especially enjoy the whooshing sound they make as they go flying by.
  • Around here, accept that some days you’re the pigeon, and some days you’re the statue.
  • I don’t have an attitude problem; YOU have a perception problem.
  • I don’t suffer from stress; I’m a carrier.
  • Chaos, panic, and disorder – my work here is done.
  • Well, today was a total waste of make-up!
  • A woman’s favorite position is CEO.

Overheard in a bar:

  • I started out with nothing, and I still have most of it left.
  • Whatever look you were going for, you missed it.
  • My philosophy? Hear no evil; see no evil; date no evil.
  • I have a computer, a vibrator, and pizza delivery. Why should I leave the house?
  • Not all men are annoying; some are dead.
  • A date? No thanks. Besides, I’m not your type; I’m not inflatable.
  • Why am I staring? I’m just trying to imagine you with a personality.
  • Do you realize that you have an MTV mind in a TicTok world?
  • Pardon me, but does this train of thought have a caboose?
  • If I throw a stick, will you leave?
  • It isn’t the size . . .[pause]. . . no, it’s the size.
  • Too many freaks and not enough circuses.
  • Macho law prevents me from admitting I’m wrong.
  • Nice cologne, but must you marinate in it?
  • Tell me what you need, and I’ll tell you how to get along without it.
  • My digital date meandered to a different drummer.
  • Did I mention the kick in the groin you’ll be receiving if you don’t get lost?
  • You think I’m getting smart with you? How would you know?
  • I’d explain it to you but your brain would explode.
  • Needing a guy is like needing a parachute: If he isn’t there the first time you need him, chances are you won’t be needing him again.

Overheard at McDonald’s: I majored in Liberal Arts. Will that be for here or to go?

Overheard at a cash register: Sarcasm is just one more service we offer.

Food for thought (and laughs).

The McGuffeys

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑