Ahhh, old age . . . BAH HUMBUG!

Over our morning coffees the other day, my wife and I found ourselves discussing “time” and how quickly it zips by – the hours, the days, the weeks, the seasons, and, of course, the years and decades!

We were shocked at the number of years we’ve been retired – eight!

Ahhh, old age is upon us.

After I got us each another cup of coffee – our drink of choice for thoughtful moments – we then launched into a back and forth about the plusses and minuses of reaching such an august age. The upshot of our discussion was – to borrow a line from an irreverent but brilliant 20th century author, Dorothy Parker:

“I might repeat to myself, slowly and soothingly, a list of quotations beautiful from minds profound – if I can remember any of the damn things.”

Ahhh , old age . . . BAH HUMBUG!

Food for thought.

The McGuffeys

1. Parker, Dorothy (1939). Here Lies: The Collected Stories of Dorothy Parker.

One thought on “Ahhh, old age . . . BAH HUMBUG!

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑