Recently Overheard Remarks

See that fellow in the picture for this article – the one that’s typing on his phone as the others talk? Here are some remarks that I was privileged (?) to overhear.

At work…

  • How do I set a laser printer to stun?
  • This isn’t an office – it’s Hell with fluorescent lighting!
  • Errors have been made. Others will be blamed.
  • I thought I wanted a career; turns out I just wanted a paycheck.
  • I love deadlines. I especially like the whooshing sound they make as they go flying by.
  • My cubicle is just a padded cell without a door.
  • I pretend to work; they pretend to pay me.
  • I’d explain it to you, but your brain would explode.
  • Well, this day was a total waste of makeup.
  • Can I trade this job for what’s behind door #2?
  • Tell me what you need, and I’ll tell you how to get along without it.
  • I can only please one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn’t looking good either.
  • “Stress” is when you wake up screaming, and you realize you haven’t fallen asleep yet.
  • I don’t suffer from stress. I’m a carrier.

At a bar…

  • I started out with nothing, and I still have most of it left.
  • If I throw a stick, will you leave?
  • I’m trying to imagine you with a personality.
  • Whatever kind of look you were going for, you missed.
  • I’m not your type. I’m not inflatable.
  • Hear no evil; see no evil; date no evil.
  • It’s not the size, it’s [pause] no, it’s the size.
  • And which dwarf are you?
  • Not ALL men are annoying. Some are dead.
  • I’m ‘getting smart’ with you? How would you know?
  • Nice perfume. Must you marinate in it?
  • Okay! Okay! I take it back! Un -**** you!

At a barbecue…

  • The problem with today is – too many freaks, and not enough circuses.
  • We live in suburbia. You know, where they tear out the trees and name streets after them.
  • Does your train of thought have a caboose?
  • If I want to hear the pitter-patter of little feet, I’ll put shoes on my cats.
  • Macho Law” prohibits me from admitting I’m wrong.
  • I don’t have an attitude problem. You have a perception problem.
  • I have a computer, a vibrator, and pizza delivery. Why should I ever leave the house?

Out and about…

  • I majored in liberal arts. Now, will that be for here or to go?
  • I plead contemporary insanity.
  • Do I look like a ******* people-person?
  • Chaos, panic, and disorder – my work here is done.
  • Don’t mind him; he’s just meandering to a different drummer.
  • Sarcasm is just one more service we offer.
  • YOU! Off my planet!

Food for thought.

Mac

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑